Eikon - Internationale Zeitschrift für Photographie und Medienkunst
D / E

NEWS

EIKON Schaufenster: CLAUDIA ROHRAUER. EXPECTED ENCOUNTERS
EIKON Schaufenster: CLAUDIA ROHRAUER. EXPECTED ENCOUNTERS
read more

Sergei Sviatchenko - REVISITED


Edition - EIKON REVISITED

EIKON issues with collage cover, 2022
21 x 28 cm
signed
Edition: 18 unique copies

The edition is sold with a custom-made clip-on frame out of plexiglas, allowing the work to be hung on a wall or positioned freely as a sculptural object.

Portfolio and package prices upon request (via office@eikon.at).

Price: € 770,00 (incl. 10% VAT)

Online Order >>>

Description

"No history is ever complete, no image the sole possibility: The Ukrainian-born artist Sergei Sviatchenko reminds us of this with his disruptive collages.
For EIKON, Sviatchenko reinterpreted a selection of magazine covers from the archive. The original photograph was to remain recognizable, while the collage was to become a homage to the creators of the original. As a result of the mirroring, duplication, and concealment of various motifs and forms, the covers have an effect ranging from hypnotic and playful to disorienting and unsettling, depending on the viewer. In any case, however, they feed our desire for new stories." (Margit Mössmer, EIKON #119, S. 44)

The edition EIKON REVISITED will be presented at this year’s viennacontemporary.

Danish-Ukrainian artist Sergei Sviatchenko, born in 1952 in Kharkiv, Ukraine, is one of the most influential innovators of contemporary collage. His oeuvre cuts through the boundaries of traditional and contemporary visuals, merging pop culture with politics, history, science and architecture in his ground-breaking art work.
Growing up in the Ukraine in 1960s, Sviatchenko witnessed firsthand the revolutionary shifts in global society and contemporary culture. From Khrushchev’s tomb to Gorbachev’s new openness and the fall of the Wall, and the revolutionary extension of the West, bringing with it a new flourish of pop culture and artistic expression. In Sviatchenko’s work we see the reflections of decades of artistic exploration. From Soviet Avant-Garde art, architecture and Constructivism, to World War II Surrealism, and the 1960s American Expressionists and Pop music, and the films of director Andrei Tarkovsky.
A provocateur in the world of contemporary art, Sviatchenko’s collages and paintings have been exhibited in Denmark, Ukraine, Germany, Austria, Italy, France, England, Canada, and the USA and featured in celebrated magazines such as Dazed & Confused, AnOther, Kilimanjaro, Varoom, Elephant, This is a magazine, Rojo, Viewpoint and Blueprint. He is also the founder and editor of fashion journal Close Up and Private, which looks to capture the discourse between clothing, style and image. In 2020, Sviatchenko realised a life-long dream by founding a new  festival – LESS Festival of Contemporary Collage, in Viborg Denmark.

Online Order >>>

Eikon - Internationale Zeitschrift für Photographie und Medienkunst
D / E

AKTUELLES

NEIN zu 20% Mehrwertsteuer auf kulturelle Dienstleistungen!
NEIN zu 20% Mehrwertsteuer auf kulturelle Dienstleistungen!
lesen Sie mehr

Sergei Sviatchenko - REVISITED


Edition - EIKON REVISITED

EIKON-Ausgabe mit collagiertem Cover, 2022
21 x 28 cm
signiert
Gesamtauflage: 18 Unikate

Die Edition wird mit einem speziellen, maßgefertigten Wechselobjektrahmen aus Plexiglas verkauft. So kann das Werk an der Wand gehängt oder frei im Raum als Objekt positioniert werden.
Gesamtes Portfolio sowie Paketpreise auf Anfrage (an office@eikon.at).


Preis: € 770,00 (inkl. 10% USt)

zur Online Bestellung >>>

Beschreibung

„Keine Geschichte ist jemals abgeschlossen, kein Bild die einzige Möglichkeit: Daran erinnert uns der 1952 in der Ukraine geborene Künstler Sergei Sviatchenko mit seinen disruptiven Collagen.
Für EIKON hat Sviatchenko eine Auswahl an Magazin-Cover aus dem Archiv neu interpretiert. Die ursprüngliche Fotografie sollte dabei wiedererkennbar bleiben, die Collage zur Hommage an die Urheber:innen des Originals werden. Durch Spiegelung, Vervielfältigung und Verdeckung von Motiven und Formen wirken die Cover je nach Betrachter:in hypnotisch-verspielt bis desorientierend-beunruhigend. In jedem Fall aber füttern sie unser Verlangen nach neuen Geschichten.“ (Margit Mössmer, EIKON #119, S. 44)

Die Werkserie REVISITED wird erstmals auf der viennacontemporary 2022 präsentiert. 

Der dänisch-ukrainische Künstler Sergei Sviatchenko, geboren 1952 in Charkiw, Ukraine, gehört zu den einflussreichsten Innovatoren der zeitgenössischen Collage. Sein Werk überwindet die Grenzen zwischen traditioneller und zeitgenössischer Bildsprache und verbindet Popkultur mit Politik, Geschichte, Wissenschaft und Architektur.
In den 1960er Jahren in der Ukraine aufgewachsen, erlebte Sviatchenko die revolutionären Veränderungen der globalen Gesellschaft und der zeitgenössischen Kultur hautnah mit. Von Chruschtschows Grabmal über Gorbatschows neue Offenheit und den Fall der Mauer bis hin zur Ausdehnung des Westens, die eine neue Blüte der Popkultur und des künstlerischen Ausdrucks mit sich brachte. In Sviatchenkos Werk spiegeln sich Jahrzehnte der künstlerischen Exploration wider: Von der sowjetischen Avantgarde, Architektur und Konstruktivismus über Surrealismus und amerikanischer Expressionisten der 1960er Jahre bis hin zu Popmusik und den Filmen des Regisseurs Andrei Tarkowski.
Als Provokateur in der zeitgenössischen Kunstwelt wurden Sviatchenkos Arbeiten in Dänemark, der Ukraine, Deutschland, Österreich, Italien, Frankreich, England, Kanada und den USA ausgestellt und in renommierten Zeitschriften wie Dazed & Confused, AnOther, Kilimanjaro, Varoom, Elephant, This is a magazine, Rojo, Viewpoint und Blueprint veröffentlicht. Er ist außerdem Gründer und Herausgeber der Modezeitschrift Close Up and Private, die den Diskurs zwischen Kleidung, Stil und Image einfangen will. Im Jahr 2020 erfüllte sich Sviatchenko einen Lebenstraum und gründete das LESS Festival of Contemporary Collage in Viborg, Dänemark.

zur Online Bestellung >>>